Bayanihan Media Awards National Winner

Lazatin awards ₱1-M cash incentives to CLRAA winners

ANGELES CITY — Mayor Carmelo “Pogi” Lazatin, Jr. on May 24, 2023 distributed ₱1.059 million worth of cash incentives to the Central Luzon Regional Athletic Association (CLRAA) winners. 

The distribution was held at the Legislative Building, where the 93 student-athlete winners were present and greeted by Mayor Lazatin personally.

Mayor Lazatin was assisted by the members of the City Nutrition Office, led by Jermaine Jam Aguila.

“Congratulations student-athletes for bringing recognition and pride to Angeles City,” Lazatin said.

Angeles City has garnered 21 gold, 19 silver, and 40 bronze medals during the said annual sporting event last April 24 to 28.

Each gold medalist received ₱10,000; ₱7,000 for silver medalists and ₱5,000 each for bronze medalists.

“We have exhausted a budget from the Local School Board and funds from the Office of the Mayor to accommodate giving these cash incentives for them. They indeed deserve this,” Lazatin furthered.

Lazatin also believes that these young breed of student-athletes will soon represent not just Angeles City, but also the country.

“It is our administration’s ultimate dream to produce an Angeleño olympic medalist. It is not impossible, with these athletes who are very dedicated and hard working in the field of sports,” Lazatin shared.

Lazatin vowed that he will continue to support and prioritize sports development amongst youth, also thanking Vice Mayor Vicenta Vega-Cabigting, City Council, and the Department of Education — Division of Angeles City, schools, teachers and coaches. 

For his part, Division of Angeles City Superintendent Ronaldo Pozon, said “Thank you very much po Mayor Pogi sa walang sawang suporta na binibigay ninyo sa mga atletang estudyante natin. Masayang masaya ang mga bata at mga magulang at siguradong magagamit ng tama itong mga incentives na binigay po ninyo.”

Among the gold medalists are Angel Luis Rendon, Althea Villavicencio, Sophia Legaspi, Jay-M Calahan, Richard Santiago, Jervie Bartaculo, Tristan Gabriel Yabut for ParaGames; Heinin Max Willem for Table Tennis; Quyncy Lee Ilan for Taekwondo; Sebastian Paul Soriano for Athletics; Carlos Joaquin Herrera, Ian Patrick Aquino, Ming Tai Chen, Cris Jemuel Mallari, Riannah Chantelle Coleman, Szyreal Jones Chaneco, Zoe Baldemor, Giada Denisse Antonio, Vaughn Cabrera, and Jerlin Raumei Valencia for Swimming; Maxine Rose Aquino, Arielle Charmaine Carreon, Charlize Amerieh Gozun, Krizia Nicole Mariano, Maria Michaela Santos, Ma. Juliana Turla, Nina Angea Berces, Svetlana Crystal Joan Cayanan, Railee Kitchie Lobo, Eshana Rose Nunag, and Maria Kristien Dawn Silos for Volleyball.

Ethaniel Santos, Eiron Nallatan, Ijurly Archie Bautista, Aleny Therese Lopez, Ralf Aldhjren Fabian, Hanzson Manlutac, Rhafael Topacio, Santiago, Legaspi, and Calahan for ParaGames; Jhazz Mark Castillo, Alwin Cayzer David and Lebron James Pangilinan for Arnis; Ivan Zigmond Villanueva for Taekwondo; Bianca Valerio for Athletics; Sean Luis Tria, Liam Jacob David, Julian Willems, Shawn Matthew Tria, and Aquino for Swimming took home silver medals from their respective field of sports.

Meanwhile, Angeline Galang, Ramona Avril Yayen, Michel Jash Guntan, Jhilliana Reian Supnet, Nallatan, Lopez for ParaGames; Iris Biel Sarmiento, Castillo, David, and Pangilinan for Arnis; Joshua Rain Sabian and Pia Kristel Garcia for Table Tennis; Jhake Ortega, Jeremiah Caleb Labasano, Ivan Louis Castro, and Ethan Matthew Tiotuico for Tennis; Sophia Nicole Garcia, Richmond Goloya, Red Arkrey Rivera, Eirik Panganiban, Derick Lagbao, Andrew Laurence Callejo, Jwelle Mei Castillo, Caroline Weeko Balajadia, Alliana Orina, Ayen Ysabelle Arceo, Jethro Mandani, and Mary Heary Capulong for Taekwondo; Clea Carreon for Badminton; Caitlin Ferguson for Gymnastics; Sara Elysia Patel, Yunica De Castro, Audrey Gueco, Renesmae Liuna Morales, Daniel Jonas Ocampo, Cabrera, Coleman, Chaneco, Mallari, and Aquino for Swimming; Inzo Banez, Ralph Del Mundo, Tyrone Guiuo, John Puyat, Mark Sison, Nikko Tipino, Chester Tulabut, Enrique Suarez, Langley Rubillos, Van Labadan, Joren Gegante, and Charm Dela Cruz for Basketball; Alfredo Lota Jr. and Athena Soriano for Dancesports; Tiv Omangay and Joshua Mallari for Chess were awarded with bronze medals. 

To recall, some 417 student-athletes competed in the CLRAA, in their respective fields of sports.

Each student-athlete received free playing shoes, uniforms, parade polo shirts, joggers, hoodies, bags, caps and travel mattresses from the city government before the regional meet started.