Caluag takes oath as CSF’s 1st-ever female mayor

FIRST-EVER FERNANDINA MAYOR. City of San Fernando, Pampanga Mayor Vilma Caluag officially took her oath of office at Heroes Hall on June 30, 2022. Joining the newly-minted mayor were members of her family led by husband, former village captain Melchor Caluag.

CITY OF SAN FERNANDO – Mayor Vilma B. Caluag has been sworn in as the city’s first-ever female local chief executive.

Caluag officially took her oath of office before Judge Mary Ann Rivera, the Caluag family, fellow newly-elected officials, City department heads, and representatives from public and private sectors.

In her inaugural address, the lady mayor presented the agenda under her helm, bannering good governance, universal health care and wellness, and education, along with planned programs on environment, livelihood, social welfare, and infrastructure, among others.

Her slogan “Fernandino Ka, Kayabe Ka” was also launched at the end of her speech – a phrase describing her inclusive governance for the next three years of her term.

Agkatan kula pu ring Fernandinos a pisaupan-saupan taya ngan pu ini bang apagmasusian taya ing bayung San Fernando. Italakad taya pu ing gobyernong mamye pag-asa karing Fernandinos. Ali kayu paylakwan, makyabe tana ngan at umpisan tane ngeni. Fernandino Ka, Kayabe Ka,” she said.

FIRST ADDRESS AS A MAYOR. City of San Fernando, Pampanga Mayor Vilma Caluag addresses the public in her inaugural speech during her oath-taking at Heroes Hall on June 30, 2022.

Proclaimed a day after the elections, Caluag garnered a total of 57,486 votes.

Before her election as mayor, Caluag served as barangay captain of Dolores. She was also elected as president of the city’s Liga ng mga Barangay, making her an ex-officio member of the Sangguniang Panlungsod.

Caluag’s family runs diversified businesses that cater to health care, academe, hospitality, and trading.

Joining Caluag during the inauguration and oath-taking were Vice Mayor Benedict Jasper Simon R. Lagman and 10 elected council members.

The 10 councilors are Brenz Gonzales, Rosalie Mendoza, Ricky Hizon, Reggie David, Cristina Lagman, Ato Agustin, Angel Wijangco, Ayzel Macalino, Redentor Halili, and Rosemary Calimlim.

Following their oathtaking rites, the officials received a prayer of blessings by the Catholic Church represented by Sto. Niño Parish Priest Rev. Fr. Joseph Mary Bacay.

During the turnover ceremony, former mayor Edwin “EdSa” Santiago underscored that apart from the turnover of seat of authority, it’s the bureaucracy and the Fernandino children that he wants to hand over to the new administration.

Sa atin pong panunungkulan, nakapagtatag tayo ng isang malakas na bureaucracy – na nagresulta sa episyente, mabilis, at malinis na paggawa ng mga programa. At dahil naniniwala tayo na ang mga bata ang salamin ng bukas, naging prayoridad po natin sila. Ang mga ito po ang handog natin sa susunod na mga opisyal,” he said.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on google
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest