Bayanihan Media Awards National Winner

Herbosa lauds Gov Delta, Nanay for ‘exemplary’ healthcare programs

STO. TOMAS, Pampanga — Department of Health Secretary Teodoro J. Herbosa has commended Governor Dennis “Delta” Pineda and Vice Governor Lilia “Nanay” Pineda for their ‘exemplary’ healthcare programs.

He bared this during the inauguration of the first-ever Bagong Urgent Care and Ambulatory Service (BUCAS) Center in this town on Wednesday.

The Health Secretary expressed his admiration for the dedication of Governor Delta and Vice Governor Nanay to prioritize health initiatives, stating, “Parati na lang akong nandito sa Pampanga, baka mainggit na yung ibang probinsya. This gives you the idea that the Governor and Vice Governor are focused on health. And I wish all chief executives in the Philippines are like these mother and son.”

Under their leadership, the province has seen remarkable progress in its healthcare system, including the establishment of state-of-the-art healthcare facilities and the implementation of preventive healthcare programs. Secretary Herbosa highlighted the significance of these efforts, noting that they were inspired by the “Lab For All” initiated by First Lady Louis Araneta-Marcos.

Secretary Herbosa also acknowledged Vice Governor Nanay’s valuable contribution to crafting projects and programs for the benefit of Filipinos, emphasizing her unique perspective as both a chief executive and a politician.

“She advised me… She looks at healthcare in the lens of a chief executive and a politician and I love that kasi wala ako lens na ganon,” he added.

The provincial government of Pampanga, under Governor Delta’s initiative, has continuously supported the healthcare needs of indigent Kapampangans through the provision of medical financial assistance. 

Additionally, the “Alagang Nanay Preventive Healthcare Program” has conducted regular medical missions, providing free medical services such as provision of medicines, check-ups, surgeries, and eye assessment to more than 20,000 Kapampangan as of January 2024.