Bayanihan Media Awards National Winner

Garbo, officials lead groundbreaking of Mabalacat’s new government center

MABALACAT, Pampanga — The groundbreaking ceremony for this city’s new government center was held on Friday, July 21, in time for the celebration of Mabalacat’s 11th cityhood anniversary.

The event was led by Mayor Crisostomo Garbo and other guests, including House Speaker Martin Romualdez. They were joined by Governor Dennis Pineda, Vice Governor Lilia Pineda, Congressman Aurelio Gonzales, Congressman Jonjon Lazatin, Angeles City Mayor Carmelo “Pogi” Lazatin, among other local officials.

The anniversary celebrations coincided with the starof construction on the new government center, which according to Mayor Garbo, is a symbol of the city’s progress and commitment to serve its constituents better.

In his address, the mayor spoke about the new government center as a testament to the city’s continual growth, and his hope that it would be a beacon for future development and service to the people of Mabalacat.

At the same momentous event, the 4th Sangguniang Panlungsod, through Resolution no. 237 series of 2023, gave due recognition to House Speaker Romualdez. The city council, headed by Vice Mayor Gerald Guttrie Aquino, lauded the achievements and contributions of Romualdez, a distinguished statesman.

The resolution highlighted the House Speaker’s strong roots as a true Mabalaqueño, being the son of the Most Outstanding Kapampangan Awardee, Juliet Gomez-Romualdez, a native of Mabalacat. His contributions to the nation were praised by the council, emphasizing his dedication to public service and his unwavering commitment to the welfare of his constituents.

“In recognizing the House Speaker, we are also recognizing the remarkable contributions of all Mabalaqueños in various fields,” said the mayor. “His leadership mirrors the spirit of our city – resilient, vigorous, and always striving for progress.”

After the groundbreaking, the public officials went on to the distribution of 17 transport service vehicles for the town councils (Sangguniang Bayan) of the province of Pampanga, from Mabalacat City. 

As the celebration concluded, Mayor Garbo expressed his gratitude to the people of Mabalacat for their continued support and trust. He stated, “This day symbolizes not only our present achievements but also our bright future. We are one in our pursuit of making Mabalacat City a place where everyone wins.”

Also in attendance were Magalang Mayor Maria Lourdes Lacson, Magalang Vice Mayor Joseph Duterte Guzman, Floridablanca Mayor Darwin Manalansan, Floridablanca Vice Mayor Michael Galang, Guagua Mayor Anthony Joseph Torres, Guagua Vice Mayor Benjamin Lim, Sta. Maria Mayor Arthur Salalila, Sta. Maria Vice Mayor Mercedita Carreon, Sasmuan Mayor Catalina Cabrera, Sasmuan Vice Mayor Mamerto Tamayo Jr., Arayat Mayor Maria Lourdes Alejandrino, Arayat Vice Mayor Emmanuel Bonifacio Alejandrino, Bacolor Mayor Eduardo Datu, Bacolor Vice Mayor Ron Earvin Dungca, City of San Fernando Vice Mayor BJ Lagman, Angeles vice mayor Ma. Vicenta Vega Cabigting, Lubao Mayor Esmie Pineda, Lubao Vice Mayor Jay Montemayor, Porac Mayor Jaime Capil, Porac Vice Mayor Francis Tamayo, Sta. Ana Mayor Norberto Gamboa, Sta. Ana Vice Mayor Ramoncito Barro, Mexico Mayor Teddy Tumang, Mexico Vice Mayor Rodencio Gonzales, Apalit Mayor Oscar Tetangco Jr., Apalit Vice Mayor Pedro Nucom, Candaba Mayor Rene Malanque, Candaba Vice Mayor Resty Sibug, Macabebe Mayor Leronardo Flores, Macabebe Vice Mayor Vince Flores, Masantol Mayor Jose Antonio Bustos, Masantol Vice Mayor Danilo Guinto, Minalin Mayor Philip Naguit, Minalin Vice Mayor Rondon Mercado, San Luis Mayor Jason Sagum, San Luis Vice Mayor Roman Sagum, San Simon Mayor Abundio Punsalan, San Simon Vice Mayor Romanoel Santos, Sto. Tomas Mayor Johnny Sambo, and Sto. Tomas Vice Mayor Matias Pineda.